RSS

Run run as fast as you can… You can’t catch me I’m the ginger bread man

02 Nov

Canon 450d with 18-55mm lens f16. 1/15 sec

So I decided to start picking a picture at random and writting about it. It’s kind of like ‘Photo of the day’ that I use to do before. I use to provide the photo and C use to provide a number of interesting facts about the sungject of the pic (usualy an animal of some sorts)

I took this picture at the Bupa Great Birmingham Run. You can see a few other pictures that I took whilst there by clicking here.

I needed considerable practise at my panning technique and thought that this would be a great chance. After many failed shots (I blame the runners, the faster runners where at the front, that must have been what it was) 🙂 I finally got a shot with the runner in focus and the back drop blurred. I wanted to give a sence of movement whilst blurring out the distractions in the background.

I took a number of tests shot at slower shutter speeds to find the right speed for the runners. Nothing like a bit of trial and error!

 
7 Comments

Posted by on November 2, 2011 in panning, photography, running, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

7 responses to “Run run as fast as you can… You can’t catch me I’m the ginger bread man

  1. iangibson58

    November 2, 2011 at 8:59 pm

    I just started an iphone PAD project (should’ve called it iPPAD I suppose).

    Looks like you got the panning just right with this one. Well done!

     
    • diabroticdan

      November 2, 2011 at 10:53 pm

      Thanks. Took a lot of effort. I still need practise though

       
  2. Hellosailor

    November 2, 2011 at 9:33 pm

    Yay photo of the day is back!

     
    • diabroticdan

      November 2, 2011 at 10:52 pm

      I still want facts! Animals or not

       
  3. Hellosailor

    November 3, 2011 at 6:32 pm

    You want a running fact or gingerbread fact?

     
    • diabroticdan

      November 3, 2011 at 10:35 pm

      Both 🙂

       
  4. Hellosailor

    November 4, 2011 at 10:02 am

    We evolved to run, thats why our big toe is different to the other primates who don’t run so well – it is in line with the rest of the toes instead of diverged out to the side.

    Hansel and Gretel went to a Gingerbread House. The story was published in 1812.

     

Leave a Reply

 
