RSS

Armistice Day

11 Nov

Today is Armistice Day.. The day remember the fallen heros in conflicts throughout the world and those that are still with us, fighting for our benifits. It’s also a svery special day as its the 11/11/11. This is the one date in our calender where all the numbers are the same (Im not counting 10/10/10 or other such dates as it has a 1 and a 0 at its very basic structure). I woke up with this on my mind. Like something special was supposed to happen or i was ment to make it memorable and diffrent from every other day. This put a tupid amount of pressure on me, I didn’t know what I was supppose to do but all day this feeling was there. I didn’t have a very pleasent day.

I didn’t make a wish at 11.11 either. This greatly annoyed me, especially as I read C’s blog only hours before hand where she explains that 11/11/11 at 11.11 deserves an extra special wish. I feel like I have missed out now.

Only one other person know’s this… I tried to join the army once. It was shortly after the big split with Z. I’d not long returned from NY where I’s stood at the foot of the now non exostent World Trade Centre. It was a weird feeling, knowing that your standing on the spot where thousands of people died. It made me angry thinking of all the people that lost their parners or dads,moms etc etc. when I got back to the UK, the first thing I did was go for an interview with the army. I filled in all the paperwork, took their tests and passed with flying colours. I even opted out of going straight in as a Leuitenant and chose to be a private in the infantry. Unfortunatly i failed on my medical. Apparently I’m in a higher thret level because I have a metal plate. I was so upset, I had prepared to leave my old life behind and do something useful with my life. Today reminds me of the fact that I’ll never be able to fight for my country.

I know this isn’t exactly modern warfare. But it’s the only topical picture I have. This is a USA cicil war canon in Pittsburg, Pensylvania, another place where thousands of soldiers died for what they beliveved in. How science and times have changed. the nearest I’ll see to war is Modern Warfare 3 on my PS3. Today I will play as if I was really at war.

DD

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 11, 2011 in America, photography

 

Leave a Reply

 
